VISION

Residential Life & Housing at VCU will be a premier urban, public on-campus community providing a one-of-a-kind residential experience.

MISSION

Residential Life & Housing at VCU provides safe, inclusive, and well-maintained facilities where we build intentional communities to empower residents in their academic excellence, citizenship and personal growth.

Values

Guiding this mission is a set of departmental values, which complement the core values of the institution.

Collaboration

We value the exchange of ideas and solutions through internal and external partnerships. This value is exemplified through the enhancement of the residential experience through training, community building, policy development, and integration of services.

Inclusion & Diversity

We value celebration, exploration, and understanding among people, ideas and culture. This value is exemplified through creation of a safe environment for all students to explore identities of self and others; and promoting a life-long commitment to successful living in a global community; and ensuring that policies, programs and services are inclusive and reflect the diversity of our community.

Resident Centered

We value and recognize that our residents are at the core of our mission and practices. This value is exemplified in our commitment to encouraging and promoting the student voice and providing opportunities for comprehensive student learning, student development and student leadership.

Learning

We value academic and personal success for all students. This value is exemplified through our emphasis on engagement and education outside the classroom and ensuring a dynamic residential setting where discovery, challenge and support, innovation and respectful discourse are paramount to the on-campus experience of the student.

Excellence

We value the individual and collective pursuit of exceptional practice in our work and relationships. This value is exemplified through high expectations of our staff and students in the residential community. Staff and students are continually seeking ways to contribute to the future of the department, division, institution and profession.

We as individuals and as a collective, are committed to building communities that are welcoming for all cultures, backgrounds, beliefs and abilities. We create exceptional residential learning communities that value all of our members regardless of race, color, religion, national or ethnic origin, age, sex (including pregnancy), political affiliation, veteran status, family medical and genetic information, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression or disability. These communities provide a safe space for students and staff to explore their multi-layered identities while learning and growing with others.

We demonstrate our commitment to diversity and inclusion in tangible ways, including:

  • Training professional and student staff in areas of multicultural competence during fall, winter and spring trainings and ongoing professional development opportunities
  • Offering gender-unrestricted housing through the Open Housing program
  • Creating and maintaining freshmen living learning programs focused on inclusion and social justice with the Lavender House and Mosaic Community
  • Implementing programs that promote social justice, the exploration of culture, personal growth and community development
  • Mediating conflict between students in shared living spaces
  • Collaborating with the Office of Multicultural Student Affairs and other campus and community partners to further promote understanding, learning, growth and celebration such as: Social Justice Student Conference, Tunnel of Oppression, Lavender Empowerment Summit and Hump Day Dialogues on Tour
  • Engaging students in challenging and purposeful dialogues about diversity, inclusion and social justice
  • Developing and maintaining facilities that are accessible for all members of our community
  • Encouraging students to explore identities outside of their comfort zones
  • Creating intentional opportunities through the RA position, Community Councils, RHA and NRHH for student leadership and peer education

Brittany Adams

Desk Coordinator
Coordinator of Desk Operations
adamsbl@vcu.edu

Rebekah Allen

Area Administrative Assistant
Cabaniss Hall

Shannon Arnette

Office Manager for Residential Life
Central Housing
smarnette@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Latiesa Barrier

Area Administrative Assistant
Rhoads, Brandt and The Honors College
lbarrier@vcu.edu
(804) 827-0974

Andrea Becker

Associate Director of Residential Initiatives
Central Housing
ahbecker@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Megan Becker

Associate Director of Residential Life
Central Housing
mebecker@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Michael Booker

Broad & Belvidere
mabooker@vcu.edu
(804) 827-2444

Gillian Bullock

Graduate Assistant
Gladding Residence Center
bullockgr@mymail.vcu.edu

Cristin Byrd

Area Administrative Assistant
Grace & Broad
clbyrd@vcu.edu
(804) 827-5323

Jamese Carrell

Hall Director
The Honors College and
The Gladding Residence Center
jbcarrell@vcu.edu
(804) 827-0974

Lisa Cooper

Assistant Director of Residential Life for
Leadership Programs
Central Housing
lcooper4@vcu.edu
(804)-828-7666

David Draper

Hall Director
Ackell Residence Center
(804) 827-0383
drdraper@vcu.edu

Erin Edwards

Hall Director
Grace & Broad Residence Center
(804) 827-5323
ebedwards@vcu.edu

Joshua Edwards

Desk Coordinator
The Honors College
edwardsbucjl@vcu.edu

Fletcher Ferguson

Assistant Director of Residential Life
Central Housing
fjferguson@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Sharon Fisher

Area Administrative Assistant
West Grace South
sefisher@vcu.edu
(804) 828-0206

Cinnamon Francis

Area Administrative Assistant
West Grace North
cfrancis3@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7848

Ashley Gaddy

Assistant Director of Residential Life for Multicultural Affairs
University Student Commons
abgaddy@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Regina Gibson

Area Administrative Assistant
Ackell Residence Center
gibsonrt2@vcu.edu
(804) 827-0383

Zach Harrison

Hall Director
Brandt and Rhoads Hall
zcharrison@vcu.edu
(804) 827-0974

Samantha Hill

Assistant Director of Residential Life
Central Housing
sahill@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Jessica Hubbard

Graduate Assistant
Graduate Assistant of Residential Life for Multicultural Affairs
hubbardjm@mymail.vcu.edu

Lerone Joseph

Assistant Director of Residential Life
Central Housing
lhjoseph@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Dennis Kerwin

Hall Director
Cabaniss Hall
(804) 828-1800
djkerwin@vcu.edu

Hannah Leopold

Graduate Assistant
Brandt Hall
(804) 827-0974
leopoldhr@mymail.vcu.edu

Carlo Lewis

Desk Coordinator
The Honors College
lewisce2@vcu.edu

Monquell Middleton

Hall Director
West Grace North
mamiddleton@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7848

Madison Miller

Graduate Assistant for Selection and Development
millermn3@mymail.vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Wayne Murray

Area Administrative Assistant/ Office Manager for
Cary & Belvidere and Gladding Residence Center
wlmurray@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Richard Parker

Hall Director
Broad & Belvidere
(804) 827-2444
parkerrc@vcu.edu

Nick Rivers

Hall Director
Johnson Hall
nrivers@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1431

Gavin Roark

Director of Residential Life & Housing
Central Housing
groark@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Justin Shreve

Hall Director
Cary & Belvidere
jlshreve@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Shiori Silver

Hall Director
West Grace South
sosilver@vcu.edu
(804) 828-0206

Corey Sims

Corey Sims
Area Administrative Assistant
Johnson Hall
cbsims@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1427

Rihana Spinner

Graduate Assistant,
Leadership Programs
spinnerrd@mymail.vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Peter Wallen

Desk Coordinator
The Honors College
wallenpd@vcu.edu

Chantel Washington

Graduate Assistant
Rhoads Hall
washingtoncr@mymail.vcu.edu
(804) 827-0974

Melissa Weiss

Assistant Director of Residential Life for Conduct
Central Housing
mweiss2@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Samuel West

Desk Coordinator
The Honors College
westsj@vcu.edu

Vacant

Hall Director
Brandt Hall

Vacant

Assistant Director of Residential Life
for Selection and Development
Central Housing

Jessica Buchanan

Assistant Director of Marketing & Communications
Central Office
buchananjb@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Dr. Curtis Erwin

Assistant Vice Provost and Executive Director of Housing
Central Office
cgerwin@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Josh Ferrari

Assistant Director of Administration
Central Office
jferrari@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Jane Firer

Associate Director of Administration
Central Office
jefirer@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Jennifer Marsland

Executive Secretary/ Administrative Assistant
Central Office
jmarsland@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Robin Martin

Admin Assistant, Administration
Central Office
rdmartin@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Barbara Sabol

Assignment Coordinator
Central Office
bsabol@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Kevin Wade

Sr. Associate Director of Administrative
Services
Central Office
krwade@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Taylor Walsh

Assignment Coordinator
Central Office
tnwalsh@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Kevin Baker

Assistant Director of Facilities
Central Office
krbaker@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Gary Brower

Assistant Director for Housing Facility Projects
Central Office
mgbrower@vcu.edu
(804)-828-7666

Tenecia Dixon

Housing Facilities Coordinator (Physical Plant)
Physical Plant

James Fitzgerald, III

Residence Hall Mail Services Coordinator
Central Office
jefitzgerald@vcu.edu
(804) 828-8242

Fawn Goode

Facility Coordinator for
Cabaniss, Brandt, Rhoads, Johnson and The Honors College
Central Office
fanolan@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1698

Richard Karabiac

Director of Facilities Services
For Student Affairs (Physical Plant)
Central Office
rpkarabiac@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Allison Patel

Associate Director of Facilities & Event Services
Central Office
agpatel@vcu.edu
(804) 828-7666

Nichole Smithson

Assistant Director for Conferences & Special Projects
Central Office
nmsmithson@vcu.edu
804-828-7666

Brent Sprouse

Facility Coordinator for Ackell, Broad & Belvidere, Cary & Belvidere
Grace & Broad, West Grace North and West Grace South
Central Office
bgsprouse@vcu.edu
804-828-1794

Shonda Pulley

Human Resource Assistant, Central Housing

George Kelly

Assistant Director of Business & Personnel Services, Central Housing

Ann McKee

Accounts Receivable Clerk, Central Housing

Mildred White

Accounts Payable Clerk, Central Housing

Professional Employment Opportunities

Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) invites applications for the position of Associate Director of Residential Life.  The mission of Residential Life & Housing at VCU is to provide safe, inclusive, and well-maintained facilities where we build intentional communities to empower residents in their academic excellence, citizenship, and personal growth. Additionally, we have five departmental values that fall in line with the core values of the institution. The five departmental values are Collaboration, Inclusion & Diversity, Resident Centered, Learning, and Excellence.  These values serve as the foundation of our work within the department. More information about the values of our department visit housing.vcu.edu/about.

About the University
Virginia Commonwealth University is a premier urban public research university focused on academic success. Established in 1838 and located on 144 acres in downtown Richmond, VA, we currently enroll approximately 31,288 students. Learn more about living in Richmond, VA. VCU takes pride in its nationally ranked academic programs and academic medical center, research and scholarly productivity, and engagement with the communities it serves and changes. 

Principal Functions and Duties
The Assistant Director of Residential Life for Selection and Development is a Masters Level, full-time, experienced professional who will serve as part of the Residential Life Assistant Director team responsible for the education and daily management of over 6,300 on-campus students. The position will report to the Associate Director of Residential Initiatives.

The role of the Assistant Director of Residential Life for Selection and Development is to enhance the living-learning experience by providing a holistic approach to working with staff; including the management, planning, implementation, and support of undergraduate student selection and ongoing development/training. Principle responsibilities include: planning, implementation, and assessment of departmental undergraduate staff training, including Resident Assistant Training. The individual in this position will be responsible for the preparation and implementation of student staff recruitment, selection, and hiring. In addition, the position will work with area Assistant Directors of Residential Life to provide support for RA In-Service Training throughout the year. The person in this position will work directly with professional development planning for undergraduate, graduate, and professional staff. The person in this position will also assist with Hall Director Recruitment and provide leadership for new professional development programs within the department. The position will oversee the evaluation process, design and maintain competency-based job descriptions, and guide staff through employee discipline matters.

Required Qualification
Three to five (3-5) years professional experience in residence life/housing; Effective communication skills (oral and written); Crisis management experience; Ability to build teams and work collaboratively; Strong organizational skills with attention to detail and accuracy; Ability to work well under pressure with multiple and changing deadlines; Demonstrated proficiency utilizing technology such as web applications, online systems, database software, and standard office packages (word processing, spreadsheet, electronic mail). 

Ability to work independently and as part of a team, manage several responsibilities at the same time, resolve problems using initiative and sound judgment. Ability to collect, interpret, and report data and to write informational materials and reports. Strong interpersonal skills; Knowledge of student learning theory and developmental outcomes, and experience in its application; previous supervision experience. Demonstrated experience working in and fostering a diverse faculty, staff, and student environment; and commitment to do so as a faculty member at VCU.

Preferred Qualifications
Previous Residence Life live-in experience; demonstrated commitment working with students through training and hiring initiatives (including RA Training, RA recruitment, student staff in-services, etc.). Student conduct and crisis response experience; budget experience; and involvement with state or regional RA conferences. Experience working with Microsoft Excel, Adobe Captivate, erezlife, and/or similar software packages. Experience with living learning communities and faculty members.

Compensation and Anticipated Start Date
$53,000 to $56,500 as well as a competitive benefits package. The anticipated start date is January 8, 2018.

Application Process
Please visit vcujobs.com/postings/67478 to apply. Application packages must include a letter of intent, resume, and contact information of three references. For additional information please contact Shondonesia Pulley at (804) 828-7666 or visit our website housing.vcu.edu. The position will be open until filled. Only electronic applications submitted through vcujobs.com will be accepted.

Virginia Commonwealth University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action university providing access to education and employment without regard to age, race, color, national origin, gender, religion, sexual orientation, veteran’s status, political affiliation or disability


Help Center